Death’s Gambit: Afterlife – Review

Our result: 8/10

Death’s Gambit: Afterlife is a challenging 2D action-platformer with a strong RPG component. Unravel the mystery of Siradon and discover the true price of immortality as a death agent enslaved in his service.

Siradon focuses on the promise of immortality. Challenge the eternal guardians of the realm as Death’s right hand and endure the endless struggle to purify their souls.

What is Death’s Gambit: Afterlife?

Death’s Gambit: Afterlife is a remastered and improved version of the hardcore 2D RPG action-platformer Death’s Gambit. To face the dangers that lurk in Siradon, you must master accurate combat and use a wide range of weapons and skills. Discover the true price of immortality in a mysterious and harsh universe.

Death's Gambit: Dialog after death

In addition to the original game, Afterlife includes a variety of additional material including 10 new levels, over 30 weapons, 5 new bosses, mechanical overhauls and more. Consequently, your choices will have an impact on Sorun’s epic conclusion.

playing style

Choose from seven playable classes, over 100 skills in the skill tree, and multiple classes to customize your combat style. In addition, there are over 30 weapons available to equip your character, including bows, scythes, longswords, halberds and more. With a variety of skills and upgrades, you can choose how to use them. Hunt 20 colossal monsters and other legendary beasts. Unlock unique movement and combat upgrades to open up and expand the environment. For example, each boss is a challenge that requires a different strategy to defeat them. Additionally, defeated bosses are given a new lease of life in an enormously more difficult Heroic mode, which can be accessed immediately after their defeat. Face yourself with a new challenge and master your new powers.

Death's Gambit: Boss after death

As you progress through the story, you can determine Sorun’s fate by completing certain goals and making important decisions. Loot, hunt, and dismantle materials from around the world to craft new and useful gear for your journey through Siradon. After completing Afterlife you can unlock New Game+ where you can choose between three difficulty levels. Experience Sorun’s adventures with new enemy variations and modifiers, exclusive to New Game+.

see and feel

Death's Gambit: Art After Death

Explore a vast environment with more than 20 beautifully portrayed stages. Uncover the mysteries of strange personalities from all walks of life. Explore non-linear levels and bosses, as well as side regions with more secrets to discover and enemies to defeat. In addition, the pixel art in the game is incredibly well done. It looks really pretty and sets the tone of the game pretty well. In addition, the various designs are also quite well made and have a sense of uniqueness. Plus, with nearly 3 hours of evocative music written by Kyle Hnedak, experience a carefully crafted score that sets the tone for the setting of Death’s Gambit: Afterlife.

Death’s Gambit: Afterlife – Final Judgment

Death's Gambit: Sleep After Death

Death’s Gambit: Afterlife is a phenomenal Metroidvania game with soul-like elements. It has tight and precise gameplay, strong visual style and immense replayability, making it perfect for fans of this genre. Above all, there is a lot of polish in this game, including the RPG mechanics. For all souls and fans out there, this one is perfect. Not to mention how it changes things in NG+ and the other variations. Conclusion: This game is a lot of fun.

Leave a comment